#WhyIWrite: Book 4 by Author Denise N. Fyffe

I just watched a video by renowned author J.K. Rowling, and I believe that she gets what many authors like myself are going through.

Her Harvard Commencement speech was about failure and I could tell that she lived exactly what I am now going through. To have that  similarity is a great motivator. As such, it has inspired me to share 30 posts about the 30 books that I published.

I say published, because I have written nearly twice as many, and they are sitting on my hard drive gathering virtual dust.

*****

My fourth publication was Love Under the Caribbean Stars. This was another love poetry book. I was trying to be a bit more adventurous with the name and wanted to still represent brand Jamaica or the Caribbean.

This book went through several book cover prototypes. Every few months, I looked at it and thought that I could do more. I would scope out other book covers on Amazon and decided that it looked a bit amateur. By then, I was scoping out picture websites and came upon several; but the best free option was Pixabay.

I also discovered Canva and I thought they were great. They had free tools that allowed me to be adventurous and play around with their templates.

Love under the Caribbean Stars 2E book cover 2

smashwords-buttonbuy-now-book_bluebuy-from-button-amazon

Love under the Caribbean stars is a poetry book filled with verses and expressions made by people inspired by love and infatuation. It encapsulates the romantic whispers, euphoric emotions and intimate moments.

These poems were written over a seven year period. I gained my confidence as a poet by writing love poetry. As a writer you are highly motivated to put pen to paper, by your emotions; that is the fuel to your engine.

Enjoy the excerpt of one of these poems below:

The Essence of you

Here, standing in the essence of you
The aura you left in this room;
I lather in your proliferated musk
Which lingers from Dawn till Dusk.

To wallow like a inglorious pig
Where your shadow shifted and lived;
To bathe in your aura tomorrow
To catch even a glimpse of your shadow.

Oh, to dream of rainbow scents
That makes my aorta vent;
While I stand here
In the essence of you.

Oh to wallow,
Like an African rhino
Oh to beach,
Like a wounded dolphin
Oh to sun,
Like a tourist having fun
Oh to stand,
To breathe
To exist.

As eternity lives,
In hopes that time would generously give…
I desire to stand here,
In the essence of you.

My books can be found at a number of online websites, including:

Smashwords.comBarnes and Noble, Lulu.com, Bookworld.com.au – Australia, Amazon.com – United States, Amazon.co.uk – UK, Amazon.ca – Canada, Amazon.co.jp – Japan, Amazon.it – Italy, Amazon.es – Spain, Amazon.fr – France, Amazon.at – Austria, Amazon.de – Germany and Kobo.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

